Landscapes Live

Landscapes Live is a weekly online seminar series freely opened to the international scientific community interested in various aspects of geomorphology. Our talks take place on Zoom every Thursday, starting at 2pm GMT.

Check your local time here (2pm GMT = 3pm in London / 4pm in Paris-Berlin / 5pm in Moscow / 7.30pm in Delhi / 10pm in Beijing / 10am in New York / 7am in Los Angeles / way too early in Hawaii!).

Landscapes Live has recently joined the Geomorphology (GM) division of EGU to help developing its virtual activities. Indeed, EGU are pioneering a new CampFire concept to bring together the geoscience community in between General Assemblies.  We hope that this will meet the needs of the current pandemic but also help us in our transition to a greener future and ensure that our community better serve the needs of all scientists regardless of international mobility. You can also access here the list of the members of the Landscapes Live organization team.

Please read and comply with our our organization and code of conduct.

Program (Summer block):

  • Thursday the 24th of June 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Anne Voigtländer (GFZ Potsdam)

“Optimal stress states for geomorphologists”

To register: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0lfu-qqDoiGtfTLDbfvjss_nXi9OR7X9RK

Previous talks:

  • Thursday the 17th of June 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Laura Quick (University of Edinburgh)

“Production and dispersal of coarse sediment across the Indo-Gangetic Plains”

  • Thursday the 10th of June 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Jane L. Andersen (Aarhus University)

“Exploring erosion patterns beneath high-latitude ice sheets – case studies from Scandinavia and Greenland”

  • Thursday the 3rd of June 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Giulia Sofia (University of Connecticut)

“Digital Analysis and Terrain Mapping. The way forward in geomorphology”

  • Thursday the 27th of May 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Seulgi Moon (University of California, Los Angeles)

“Topographic stress influence on fractures, surface processes, and landscape evolution”

  • Thursday the 20th of May 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Tamara Pico (University of California, Santa Cruz)

“In and out of the last ice age: Insights into the influence of glacial isostatic adjustment on landscape evolution in North America”

  • Thursday the 13th of May 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Benjamin Keisling (Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory)

“Past as prologue: how archives help us predict the fate of Earth’s ice sheets and the future of our discipline”

  • Thursday the 6th of May 2021 at 2pm GMT (4pm CET):

Kelin Whipple (Arizona State University)

“Quantifying the Role of Climate in Landscape Evolution”

  • Thursday the 25th of March 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Simon Mudd (University of Edinburgh)

“If you don’t like the stream power law, wait until you get a load of what we do on hillslopes”

  • Thursday the 18th of March 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Roman DiBiase (PennState University)

“Morphodynamics of mixed soil-mantled and bare bedrock hillslopes”

  • Thursday the 11th of March 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Ajay Limaye (University of Virginia)

“Origin and evolution of river forms”

  • Thursday the 4th of March 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Karl Lang (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Linking orogeny and orography in the Southern Alps of New Zealand

  • Thursday the 25th of February 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Allison Pfeiffer (Western Washington University)

“Sediment supply controls river bed (in)stability in the Pacific Northwest”

  • Thursday the 18th of February 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Edwin Baynes (Loughborough University)

Hard vs Soft: spatial variability in bedrock channel geometry driven by sediment availability

  • Thursday the 11th of February 2021 at 3pm GMT:

Heather Viles (University of Oxford)

Linking life and landscape: monitoring, mapping and modelling in biogeomorphology

  • Thursday the 26th of November 2020 at 3pm GMT:

Gabor Domokos (Budapest University of Technology)

“Estimating mass loss from pebble shape”

  • Thursday the 19th of November 2020 at 3pm GMT:

Alison Duvall (University of Washington)

“Exploring the timing, triggering and spatial distribution of landslides along the Cascadia Subduction Zone”

  • Thursday the 12th of November 2020 at 3pm GMT:

Alex Whittaker & Mikael Attal (Imperial College London & University of Edinburgh)

“Faulting and landscapes – a tribute to Patience Cowie”

  • Thursday the 5th of November 2020 at 3pm GMT:

Joanmarie del Vecchio (Penn State University)

“Appalachian pasts, Arctic futures: permafrost landscape dynamics”

Abstract: What happens to permafrost landscapes when the climate heats up? Today, high latitudes face amplified warming and permafrost thaw, leading to erosion, carbon release and ecosystem disturbance, and predicting the location and magnitude of such disturbance is a top priority for Arctic communities and climate modelers alike. I argue we can make better predictions by probing sedimentary records from past warming events in unglaciated Appalachia, where permafrost thaw and ecosystem change occurred thousands of years ago and is recorded in sedimentary archives in headwater catchments and bogs. I show how digital terrain analysis in both Appalachia and Alaska, geophysical imaging, isotope and bulk geochemistry and pollen allow me to connect erosion rates and styles to  past climate conditions. 

  • Thursday the 8th of October 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Susan Conway (CNRS Nantes)

“Sublimation as a geomorphic process on Mars”

  • Thursday the 1st of October 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Michele Koppes (University of British Columbia)

“Reading the story of climate change in the landscape: Sedimentary signatures of disappearing glaciers”

  • Thursday the 24th of September 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Jean Braun (GFZ Potsdam)

“Flow of southeastern Tibet across a steady-state topography”

Abstract: The Tibetan Plateau is Earth’s most important topographic feature, which controls the strength of the Asian Monsoon. Most current models predict that the plateau has been steadily growing southward for tens of millions of years. Using a new, high resolution thermochronological dataset from the deep gorges of the Salween and Mekong rivers, we postulate that the shape of the southeastern margin of the plateau has remained unchanged for the last 10 Myr, while vast volume of rocks have continued to flow across it. Our finding agrees very well with a wide range of other, independent geological and geophysical data and has implications for our understanding of the evolution of Asian climate and biodiversity.

  • Thursday the 17th of September 2020 at 2pm GMT:

John Armitage (IFPEN Paris)

“Reproducible landscapes”

The presentation can be found here: https://github.com/johnjarmitage/reproducible-presentation

  • Thursday the 2nd of July 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Georgie Bennett (University of Exeter)

“Hazardous landscapes: Towards landslide early warning in Nepal and the Philippines”

  • Thursday the 25th of June 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Fiona Clubb (Durham University)

“Creepy landscapes along the San Andreas fault”

  • Thursday the 18th of June 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Robert Hilton (Durham University)

“The shifting view of how mountain building and erosion impact the carbon cycle”

  • Thursday the 11th of June 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Liran Goren (Ben Gurion University of the Negev)

“Grainscape”

  • Thursday the 04th of June 2020 at 2pm GMT:

Anneleen Geurts (University of Bergen)

“Drainage integration in continental rifts”